usa special
hyd scene
Book release - Tara Maniharam
Home > News > Functions
15th September 2003
tell a friend

Five journalists - Venu Madhav, Peddada Murthy, Narayana Raju, Ravi Kolikapudi and Vinayaka Rao - resigned to their jobs and ventured in to writing a book 'Tara Maniharam' that comprises the rich Telugu cinema history starting from 1931 to year 2000. When everything was ready to be published, the entire data was lost along with the valuable books in journalists library two years back. They had to work all over again and rewrite the book. Finally, this book was released by Chiranjeevi on 15th of September at a function organized at Satya Sai Nagamagamam.

ANR, Devendar Goud, MS Reddy, Mohan Babu, Raja Sekhar, B Gopal, EVV Satyanarayana, Muthyala Subbaiah, N Shankar, Chandra Mahesh, RP, Chakri, Brahmanandam, Chalapati Rao, Laya and Anitha. Sanjay Kishore has organized the event on behalf of 'Sangam Academy'. AVS compared the event. Usha and Gangadhar performed Sangeeta Vibhavari along with other singers.

Tara Maniharam is published by Millennium books and is priced at Rs 1000/-. This book consists of 700 pages and features details of all Telugu films starting from 1931 to year 2000.

Speaking on the occasion, Chiranjeevi said that he was not aware of who HM Reddy, KV Reddy etc were, because he has no book that has the data about the legends of film industry. At that time Chiranjeevi felt that there should be a book that gives a comprehensive write up along with photographs so that the Telugu people would know who made contribution to the growth of Telugu cinema.

Chiranjeevi requested the home minister Devender Goud to request the concern people in Government to make sure a copy of this book is available in all libraries in Andhra Pradesh.

Chiranjeevi released the book and gave the first copy of it to Akkineni Nageswara Rao. ANR autographed that book and Chiranjeevi bought it back by giving a cheque of Rs 25,000/-. Mohan Babu announced Rs. 25000/- to the authors of the book on this occasion.

Later on all the authors were felicitated.

Photo Gallery (Photos by Giri)
emailabout usprivacy policycopy rightsidle stuff