usa special
hyd scene

Cinemaa Awards 2008 presentation
Home > News > Functions
March 23, 2008


The Cinemaa Awards 2008 function was held in great style at Gachibowli Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad on the night of 23 March. This function is attended by Chiranjeevi, Nagarjuna, NTR, Allu Arjun, Bhumika Chawla, Charmme and Trisha.

Here is the list of award winners.

S. No. Category Winner Film
1. Best film Happy Days Happy Days
2. Best actor NTR Yamadonga
3. Best actress Trisha AMAV
4. Best director Sekhar Kammula Happy Days
5. Best actor in prominent role Mohan Babu Yamadonga
6. Best actress in prominent role Suhasini Sri Maalakshmi
7. Best debut hero Ram Charan Teja Chiruta
8. Best debut heroine Hansika Motwani Desa Muduru
9. Best debut director Srivas Lakshyam
10. Best music director Micky J Meyer Happy Days
11 Best choreographer prem Rakshit Yamadonga
12 Best Villain Kelly Dorji Don
13 Best comedian Brahmanandam Dhee
14 Best screenplay Sekhar Kammula Happy Days
15 Best story Sekhar Kammula Happy Days
16 Best male playback singer Karthik Happy Days
17 Best female playback singer Geeta Madhuri Chirutha
18 Best lyricist Vanamali Happy Days
19 Best dialogue writer Ratnam Yamadonga
20 Best cinematographer Senthil Kumar Yamadonga
21 Best Action director Vijayan Chirutha
22 Best Art director Anand Sai Yamadonga
23 Best Editor Varma Chiruta
- Lifetime achievement award K Viswanath -
- Felicitation Brahmanandam -

maa tv

The board of directors of MAA jointly unveiled the new logo of MAA.

Speaking about MAA Chiranjeevi said, “I always come to functions as an actor. It is feeling strange to appear on the stage as a board director. I am not a business guy. It was Nagarjuna who invited me into MAA TV and I trust his business acumen.”

Speaking accepting many awards Sekhar Kammula said, “It is a tribute to audience for making this film such a huge hit. Happy Days ushers new winds of change to Telugu film industry. This award re-confirms that we are on the right track.”

After accepting lifetime achievement award K Viswanath said, “This award is special and sacred to me.”

After accepting the best actor award NTR said, “I would like to thank all Nandamuri fans. I would also like to thank Rajamouli for making me slim. I always took inspiration from top 4 heroes (Chiranjeevi, Bala Krishna, Venkatesh and Nagarjuna). I am very sad that a great actor like Sobhan Babu expired 2 days back. I would like to return this award to Chiranjeevi and request him to pass it on to the family of Sobhan Babu on my behalf. I would like to dedicate this award to Sobhan Babu.”

After taking the award back Chiranjeevi said, “I appreciate the gesture of NTR. I also remember Sobhan Babu saying that he likes Mahesh Babu and NTR the most among the new crop of actors. It is a good gesture from NTR in deed.”

This function witnessed electrifying performances by Sindhu Menon, Udaya Bhanu, Prem Rakshit, Nikhita, Ayesha, Farzana, Devi Sri Prasad, Srddha Arya and Mumaith Khan.

The highlight of the entire function is the K Viswanath songs rendering by four cute little girls (finalists of Padalani Vunnadi program on MAA TV). These girls have got maximum applause from the crowds.

The entire stadium gave standing ovation to K Viswanadh when he came to accept the lifetime achievement award.

MAA TV has leveraged well on it’s programs like Rela Re Rela, Yuva and Paadalani Vundi to add some variety to the function.

MAA TV should be appreciated for awards selection as 95% of the awards seem justified and fair. However, Varun Sandesh (Happy Days) should have been nominated for best debut hero as his name does not feature in any of the choices in that category. Venkatesh should have been nominated for the best actor category through AMAV instead of Tulasi.

Photo gallery
tell us about how you liked this article
emailabout usprivacy policycopy rightsidle stuff